How Many People Will Speak at Your Funeral?

I recently attended a funeral which had approximately 300 people in the audience. At one point in the service the minister asked if anyone would like to tell a story about the deceased? All they’d have to do is raise their hand and a microphone would be brought to them. It was if you were back in school and the teacher had asked a question where no one knew the answer. It was very quiet. Finally, someone raised his hand and in the end five people were willing to say something. I know why the other 295 were quiet – they had that fear which haunts so many of us when we are asked to speak in front of a large group.

I’d encourage you to take a class, join Toastmasters or do whatever it takes to get over that fear. I’d like you to say something nice about me when it’s my time to die.

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to How Many People Will Speak at Your Funeral?

  1. Pingback: Breaking Murphy’s Law » Blog Archive » The Weekly Might Have Missed List (08/10/08)

Leave a comment